MEAL: Pea, broccoli and basil soup

If you’ve followed my blog or my instagram for a while you’ll know that I am obsessed with colourful food, my favourite colour for my food? Green of course! Everything from green smoothies to a different pea soup, celery to grapes, I love them every single one. So the other week I was craving some green goodness and whipped up this protein and vitamin packed soup.

pea-broccoli-basil-soup

Serves: 4 large bowls

What you need:

Spray oil
2 cups of onion
1 clove of garlic
7 cups of cold water
4 cups of broccoli
4 cups of frozen peas
8 tablespoons of fresh basil
4 tablespoons of nutritional yeast flakes

208 calories per bowl

Method

Firstly, grab your onions, ok so 2 cups of onions is about 3 or 4 onions depending on how large they are. Peel the onions and dice them and chop your garlic before finding your largest saucepan. Stick your pan on a medium heat, spray some oil and through the onions and garlic in. Let the onions and garlic cook in the oil, stirring as needed so that they don’t burn, it won’t take long for them to start smelling utterly delicious. Now you’re ok to fire in the cold water, broccoli and peas, leave the soup to come to a gentle boil and turn the heat down so it simmers away nicely. I always leave mine to build for too long because I tend to get distracted (talking to my house rabbit or trying to cuddle the cat usually), but you only need to boil this soup until the broccoli is cooked – which usually only takes about 10 minutes if you’re putting the water in cold.

Roll and chop your basil leaves, throw them into the boiling soup with the nutritional yeast (for that savoury taste) then blend and enjoy! I’ve said that this soup serves 4 but you could probably spread it over 5 if you’d prefer, I’m just greedy and love big old bowls of green soup.

Leave a Reply

