SMOOTHIE: Matcha, matcha, matcha

I have a confession to make, I hate matcha. There, I’ve said it. I once had a matcha green tea from a teabag on a train and thought it was the best thing ever, me being me, I was then obsessed with matcha. It was going to be the next big thing in my life so off I went to google to find out why I should be drinking matcha tea.

Benefits of matcha

  1. Antioxidants matcha is full of catechins, never heard of them? Neither had I until I started look at this. Catechins are linked to fighting cancer and heart disease.
  2. Weight loss there are are studies that suggest that drinking green tea, especially matcha (it’s like super green tea) will help burn body fat.
  3. Fibre there’s also a lot of dietary fibre in matcha and this helps to lower your cholesterol levels, improves blood sugar levels and helps keep your bowls healthy – it’s basically wonderful.

But, once I ordered my powdered matcha and tried to make it into a drink it was awful. AWFUL. It was powdery and horrible so back in the cupboard it went but I didn’t let it deter me, “bung it in a smoothie” I thought. It worked – this recipe is a perfect boost of caffeine in the morning.

Ingredients

1 cup orange juice
1/2 cup non dairy milk
1/2 cup mango (frozen is good)
1 teaspoon matcha
Optional ice cubes

You could probably add some unflavoured protein powder in too if you’re into that sort of thing.

This smoothie, like my cold busting smoothie, is an amazing source of vitamin c. The orange juice alone has 206% of your daily vitamin c – fantastic! You can’t have too much vitamin c, it’s water soluble so if you have too much you’ll just pee it out. It’s best to aim to get more vitamin c so that your body has the best chance to absorb it.

matcha-smoothie

222 calories.

Method

Blend it. That’s it. I blend this until it goes pretty frothy so that the matcha is really blended in well. I like to add in the ice cubes whole at the end but you can blend them in too if you prefer.

matcha-detail

Leave a Reply

