REVIEW: Mono’s marvellous munch

I’m really not one of these vegans who insists on making my non-vegan friends eat in vegan restaurants so I’m always thrilled when one of my besties suggested a lunch at Mono I was chuffed. I’ve said it before, I feel incredibly lucky to live in such a vegan friendly city, it is honestly so easy to eat out here in Glasgow – I’m definitely spoiled for choice. Mono is a great place to go for good food but if you’re after a speedy service, you might need to mentally prepare yourself to wait forever for the bill, I promise it’s worth it for the food.

Falafel burger (no bun)

If you ask for no bun with the falafel burger, it becomes a gluten free meal and it is so damn good. Falafel is one of my new favourite foods, I never really used to eat it before I turned vegan and now it’s a staple in my life. The falafel burger in Mono is the best falafel I’ve tasted, it’s full of flavour (and hidden under the salad) and a pretty good size. Now, lets talk about the chips, I bloody love chips, fat chips, skinny fries, chippy chips, I love the lot of them and these chips are too good. When I make chips at home I always leave the skin on, in fact I leave the skin on for every kind of potato dish but chips with skins on are delish.

vegan-mono-falafel-burger

Raw avocado, chocolate cheesecake

This is genuinely amazing. It’s not like the cheesecake I’ve made in the past that tastes like a smoothie, it tastes like actual cheesecake! It’s super creamy, chocolatey and perfect for treating yourself, I’m convinced that most of those non-vegans out there would love this desert. Ok so it’s pretty small but it’s lovely and rich so you actually don’t need a massive slab of it.

vegan-mono-avocado-cheesecake

All in all, Mono is a bit of a hipster haven and if that’s your thing or not, you’ll love the food. Mono is full of wonderful food, it has a (very) chilled vibe and fantastic music so head down one weekend for some grub.

Leave a Reply

