SWEET TREATS: Peanut butter fudge

If you read my new year, new me post you’ll know that I don’t believe in giving things up in January (unless you’re giving up animal produce like my Veganuary buddies and even then I prefer to think of that as adding more compassion into your life) which is why I’m blogging about this wonderful fudge, no it’s not the healthiest thing in the world but it’s really tasty and so much better than any of the fudge that you can buy in the supermarket!

Before Christmas I was craving something sweet but I didn’t fancy chocolate or something shop bought, so off to Pinterest I went. Like I usually do on Pinterest I ended up getting lost browsing vegan foods about about half a day and saw so many fudges made with peanut butter. Why hadn’t I realised that you can make peanut butter into fudge until now?! So off I went with a few ideas from Pinterest to make myself a  fudge.

What you need:

8 tablespoons smooth peanut butter
2 tablespoons melted coconut oil
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

First, melt your coconut oil, it does’t matter how, if you have a microwave then pop the lid off and whack it in or if you’re like me and live in the dark ages without a microwave just sit the jar in some hot water and let it melt. Once melted, put the smooth peanut butter, coconut oil and maple syrup in a mixing bowl and give it a stir. Then add the cinnamon and nutmeg, now you want to really give this a really good stir, you need it to go to town on it with a wooden spoon. Once it’s delightfully smooth pour it all onto some greaseproof paper and stick it in the fridge overnight.

I did try freezing like most of the recipes on Pinterest said to do but then it was too tough to cut and I had to let it defrost and put in the fridge anyway.

peanut-butter-fudge

I then sliced into 8 triangles as I used a circular dish to set the fudge in but if you used a square one you could totally cut them into squares and maybe get 16 out of the mix.

peanut-butter-fudge-2

Serves: 8
143 calories per slice

 

Leave a Reply

