DRINKS: Drink Baotic

I stumbled across Baotic at Merchant Square Market a couple of months ago mostly because I can smell a health food from 50 feet! Baotic is a healthy drink made from the African fruit, baobab – apparently the baobab tree is one of the oldest in the world. Never heard of the baobab fruit? Sure you have! It’s the fruit that Rafiki munches on in the Lion King.

af5c2bb5f630e9d2d8eb1a235bec2ea1
Image source – Buzzfeed

Why is baobab so good for you?

It’s full of vitamin C

Baobab has more vitamin C than oranges, which is mental! I always think of orange when I think of vitamin C so I was really shocked to read that baobab is a better source than the humble orange. Like I mentioned in my pumpkin soup post, this is the time of year to be eating lots and lots of vit c to ward off all those germs.

Lots of antioxidants

I don’t know about you but when I think of fruits high in antioxidants I always think of blueberries but new studies suggest that the baobab fruit has more antioxidants! Antioxidants are important in a healthy diet because they collect free radicals and flush them out of your system.

Fibre, fibre, fibre

Each little bottle of Baotic contains both soluble and insoluble fibre. When you juice fruits and vegetables you lose the insoluble fibre in the process, while the soluble fibre remains. Whilst there’s nothing wrong with juicing, soluble fibre is good for lowering cholesterol, Baotic is so good because it contains both types of fibre. Insoluble fibre is good for the digestive system and that is music to my ears – although my diet keeps my body pretty well regulated, anything that I can eat that will promote good digestion is a winner in my book.

Calcium crazy

Being vegan I don’t drink milk but this fruit contains more calcium than milk! The body uses calcium to build strong bones and vitamin D helps the body absorb it. Cow’s milk is always cited and the best source of calcium for growing children but now that it’s 2016 I think we can all agree that there are plenty of ways to get calcium into your diet without harming animals or the planet.

Great source of Iron

As if all these benefits aren’t enough, it is also a perfect source of iron – more than spinach!

I’ve got to admit that all of these health benefits are music to my vegan ears, Baotic is the perfect supplement to a vegan diet. Yes, it is a wonderful health drink, but it tastes amazing. It has a delightfully sherbet taste and comes in three flavours; original, banana and orange. I’ve tired both the banana and the orange and they were both so good, now I just need to get hold of the original to see how that tastes.

If you’re interested in getting hold of some to try for yourself then keep an eye on their Facebook page to see which markets and events they’re at.

img_1718
I enjoyed my orange bottle with my current reading material
Leave a Reply

