MEAL: Grain, bean and green

I’ve been listening to a lot of podcasts for the past two weeks, mostly while I’m doing some cleaning or on my lunch at work to completely surround myself with nutrition and veganism. I can’t recommend podcasts enough, they are an easy way to learn snippets of information, learn about other people’s habbits and to give you some ideas for meals and things you’d like to try yourself. While I was listening to No Meat Athlete the other day they mentioned the golden rule:

A grain, a bean and a green

This is by far the easiest way to create a balanced plateful of food, this simple rule removes all of that worry about balancing macro-nutrients and a well rounded meal.

rice-bean-green

This meal was simply:

Brown rice / kidney beans / cavolo nero

What the hell is cavolo nero? Cavolo nero is what you buy when you nip out for spinach and there is no spinach left but there’s this weird, dark green leaf that sort of tastes like cabbage. After a little bit of research I’m really glad that I bought it! Being a dark, leafy green, I assumed it would be good for me but I had no idea just how good it was. Cavolo nero is jam packed with antioxidants, contains vitamins A, C and K and it’s also a great source of calcium and iron. GREAT!

What you need to recreate this simple grain, bean, green meal:

1 cup uncooked brown rice
1 tin of kidney beans
2 cups of chestnut mushrooms
1 teaspoon chilli paste
Juice from half a lime
4 cavolo nero leaves
1 cup cherry tomatoes

Grab a saucepan and cook your brown rice as the packet suggests, full disclosure, I never follow the instructions I just whack the rice in a pan with some water and leave it to boil until it tastes right, then rinse in hot water and scoff.

In a frying pan put a drop of water in, chop the mushrooms and let them cook away once they start to soften add in the chilli paste and drained kidney beans. Stir and leave to thicken into a good old stodge and squeeze in the lime juice. Finally, shred the cavolo nero and in a separate sauce pan heat some water and throw in the leaves. These only take around 6 minutes to boil, drain them and boom! You’re done.

Plate your food up, I like the idea of keeping the foods neatly lined up as grain, bean, green but that’s because I’m a weirdo! Add some chopped cherry tomatoes too and you’re good to go.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

