BAKED GOODS: Chickpea cookies

Your eyes do not deceive you, I did title this post chickpea cookies! I’ve been looking for some cookie inspo for ages, I think you can’t beat a good old cuppa on a grey day (and I see a lot of those in Glasgow) with a biscuit but most of the gluten free biscuits in the supermarkets are full to the brim of sugar, calories but also egg or milk. The only thing I end up being able to eat is boring digestives and even they are sugar-tastic. But what was this I kept reading? Chickpea can me blended into cookies? Surely not? But it totally works!

So I’ve not figured out how to ditch the sugar from this recipe, by using chickpea as the base it really does need sweetening up! I made a cacao and cinnamon cookies the other weekend and they went down a storm with my family but I wasn’t sold, I wanted chocolate chips and ginger. I thought I would risk making them again for a birthday buffet at work (no one I work with is vegan but they are all weirdly open to trying my healthy food) but this time I wanted to change up the flavour to ginger and digging out some dark chocolate chips for a more authentic cookie.

chickpea vegan cookies

What you need:
1 tin cooked chickpeas
1/2 cup gluten free oats
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup sugar
3 tablespoons melted coconut oil
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 cup dark (chocolate chopped into chips)

Like with all my recipes this one is delightfully simple. Preheat your over to 200c and cover a baking tray in parchment paper ready for your delicious cookies, set this aside for later.

You need your blender for this one. First chuck your gluten free (or just normal oats if you’re not gluten free) into the blender and blitz until it turns into an oat flour, this only takes a few seconds. Pop the oat flour in a mixing bowl while you drain your chickpeas and put them into the blender, add the vanilla extract, sugar, ginger and coconut oil to the chickpeas and pulse. Now this might feel like it’s just not working but it just takes a little bit of patience and the odd stir, if your blender is anything like mine this is a labour of love, if anyone has any recommendations for really good blenders then please leave a comment! Once the sweet, gingery, chickpea gloop looks reasonably smooth then add it to a mixing bowl with the oat flour and give it a good old mix. Next, start chopping up the dark chocolate, you could totally use chocolate chips but I much prefer the irregularity of making my own chunks of chocolate. Now mix your chopped chocolate into cookie dough until evenly spread.

I measured out my cookies with a tablespoon, one tablespoon of mix per cookie. Mould into a ball in your hands, yes it’s messy but baking should be, press onto your baking tray. These cookies don’t really expand in the oven so you don’t need to worry about spacing them out, just cram them close together if you start to run out of space.

Once all the mixture is pressed out into cookie shapes you can get them into the oven, they don’t take long to cook, 10-15 minutes and they’re done.

chickpea vegan cookies

Makes roughly 20 cookies

Leave a Reply

