SWEET TREATS: High protein cookies

Oh my god, you’re vegan? But where do you get your protein from? 

Firstly, shut up. Secondly, do you know how much protein you’re eating? Thirdly, I get protein from all over the place so please back up a tad.

Since going vegan I have definitely become increasingly aware of what I’m eating and what that means for my body. Like I said in my 6 month update, I’ve upped my game at the gym and to help build some more muscle then I want to also try to eat some more protein to help my recovery because I am ALWAYS sore, always.

I’ve been doing my research and these cookies from The Protein Cakery sounded fab, naturally I’ve changed it up a little so here’s my version. Now, don’t fool yourself, these are not sweet cookies. They are refined sugar free, gluten free and vegan, so nope, they are not sweet and certainly not like those cookies your granny makes. But they are very good for you, only 77 calories per cookie plus anything with strawberry in is a winner for me.

What you need:
1 cup of finely chopped strawberries
1/2 cup of Pulsin Hemp Protein Powder (or any other vegan protein powder)
2 tablespoons of desiccated coconut
1 teaspoon cacao powder
1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Preheat your oven to around 200c. Grab yourself a bowl, throw the strawberries in and mash them up so that they are lovely and squishy. Then add in all of the dry ingredients, full disclosure, I’ve only added the cacao powder because hemp protein powder is green and not pretty, not pretty at all. I then oiled my baking paper with some melted coconut oil and dolloped on my cookie mix, the mixture is enough for 6 cookies.

vegan-gluten-free-cookies-raw
Mmm muddy cookies, looks like mud right?

Stick them in the oven for 10 minutes and leave them on the paper to cool. Simply lift the paper and rest it on a wire cooling rack. Once cooled, peal them off the paper and store them in some tupperware.

vegan-gluten-free-cookies-cooked

I’ll be eating one of my cookies after each gym class this week for a quick hit of protein just as my body needs it the most.

 

Leave a Reply

