SWEET TREATS: Rhubarb cereal bars

A couple of weekends ago I went down to the Lake District to catch up with two of my ultimate besties, here we are looking adorable in accidental, matching spots.

13445697_10157086844850083_8476796273343337532_n

Naturally, I felt the need to bake for this jaunt down to Windermere. I’d acquired some home grown rhubarb from a colleague so I thought I would make these rhubarb flapjacks again, yet again, these went down a storm but I still had that guilt that they are full of sugar. So last week when I acquired yet more rhubarb I thought I’d try to make a mix between the rhubarb flapjacks, my healthier flapjacks and a cereal bar. I have to admit it’s not turned out all that bad! Here’s how I did it.

What you need:
1 cup dates
1/2 cup dairy free margarine
3 tablespoons of agave syrup
3 tablespoons of chia seeds
2 cups raw rhubarb
1 cup oats
3/4 cup chopped mixed nuts

Preheat your oven to 200c and grab yourself a large saucepan. Chop your dates up nice and small, you can totally blitz them if you prefer, it’s just so sticky that I find it easier so chop them all up. Melt the margarine in your saucepan, add the chopped dates and let it all bubble away, it will go super sticky really quickly, add in the agave syrup and stir. Let the date syrup simmer in the pan until it looks dark and sticky, you’ll notice that the dates start to breakdown into the syrup. Once it’s all combined you can start adding everything else, through in the chopped rhubarb, chia seeds, oats and mixed nuts, stir everything in so that it’s evenly covered. Now you’re good to spread out the mixture on a baking paper covered baking tray, spread out evenly and bake for 15-20 minutes.

Easy peasy.

vegan-rhubarb-cereal-bars

 

Leave a Reply

