BAKED GOODS: Sweet potato brownies

Chocolate makes me very happy but now that I’m eating a plant based diet, it can be tough to get my chocolate fix these days and even when I do, I get sad that everything is packed full of sugar. So, to the kitchen! Surely sweet potato brownies will work and give me that hit of chocolatey goodness. Off I went to the kitchen with my giant sweet potato and a bag of mandarin CHOC Chick.

choc-chick
I used the mandarin but you could use any flavour or plain cacao

What you need:
2 cups of mashed sweet potato
1 cup of nut butter
2 tablespoons of agave syrup
1/2 cup of CHOC Chick (or any cacao)

Preheat the oven to 200c.

First things first, how much sweet potato is 2 cups right? Well these brownies work even if the measurements are a little off so don’t worry too much. But I had one giant sweet potato, which I boiled, mashed and left to cool.

Pop the cold sweet potato in a large mixing bowl, add the nut butter (I used peanut butter but almond or cashew would be amazing), agave syrup and CHOC Chick and give it all a really good mix. Now this really does need to be thoroughly mixed! Really go to town on it, use a potato masher to make sure it is lovely and smooth too.

Grab yourself a loaf tin and grease it (I always use coconut oil), pile the brownie mix into the tin and bake for 25 minutes or until bed all the way through.
baked-vegan-brownies

Leave the brownies to cool in the tin, the first time I tried these they fell apart because it hadn’t cooled and set. I was heart broken. Once it’s cool it’s so much easier to move, it just falls out of the tin and you can cut it really easily.

vegan-gluten-free-sweet-potato-brownies

WARNING: these brownies aren’t very sweet, they are rich and tasty but if you’re looking for something really sweet, you might need to add some vegan ice cream or fruit with yoghurt.

Leave a Reply

