DRINKS: CHOC chick hot chocolate

I’ve witnessed a miracle! This flavoured hot chocolate by CHOC Chick is so up my street and it’s everything I dreamed it would be. It’s flavoured raw cacao that is perfect for drinking as a chocolatey treat. I’ve been using cacao for years, it totally outdates my new found veganism and it is one of the best foods that I’ve discovered in recent years, it gives you all of the luxurious chocolate flavour without the sugar and milk. But most of all it’s not overly processed – yay! I’m sure by now you guys know that I’m all about the simple food, nothing that’s stuffed full of preservatives and chemicals.

choc-chick

So the chocolate is free from dairy, sugar, gluten, additives and guilt and on paper, I love CHOC Chick but the most important question… how does it taste? IT TASTES SO GOOD. I’ve got the mandarin and cinnamon flavours, both are delightful.

What you need:
2 heaped teaspoons of CHOC Chick 
1/2 cup boiling water
1/2 warmed almond milk
Agave syrup (if needed)

Warm some almond milk in a pan (I used almond but you can use any non-dairy milk), boil your kettle and spoon out the CHOC Chick into your cup. Add a teeny bit of hot water into the cup and make a paste with the chocolate, then add the milk slowly and top up with boiling water. Boom. Easy, healthy hot chocolate.

You could use just water or just milk but I think the mix of both is the way forward. If I’m being honest I think the mandarin flavour needs a bit of added sweetness so I did squeeze some agave syrup in but the cinnamon flavour was perfect without it (it also felt very Christmassy).

choc-chick-hot-chocolate

Whilst sipping my cinnamon hot chocolate the other night, it suddenly dawned on me this would be amazing in porridge! So on Sunday morning I got up nice and early to have a breakfast that felt positively sinful but it was 100% guilt free and set me up for a day of spring cleaning. All I did was add a tablespoon on cinnamon CHOC Chick into my perfect porridge for one recipe and voila, the perfect weekend treat.

choc-chick-porridge

All in all, I can’t recommend CHOC Chick enough for chocoholics who are either vegan, lactose intolerant or simply just trying to cut down on dairy. This is the hot chocolate for you!

Leave a Reply

