SWEET TREATS: Mint, chocolate ice cream

A while back I made some vegan friendly ice cream that was inspired by a Gwyneth Paltrow recipe for sweet and salty ice cream. Every time I make this banana based ice cream I almost cry with joy at how easy it is to make and how it doesn’t give me that icky feeling that real ice cream used to.

Mint choc chip is one of my favourite ice cream flavours (so if anyone knows a good vegan friendly one please holla at me), it brings back memories of being a child! So I figured that I would try to recreate my fave ice cream but without the dairy.

What you need:
2 bananas
1 teaspoon of cacao powder
1 sprig of fresh mint

You need some time for this, slice your bananas and freeze them. I freeze them on a plate instead of baking paper just so I’m not using so much paper, it means that you need to prise the frozen bananas off the plate but it’s not impossible. Once the banana slices are frozen, leave them overnight if you need to, put the bananas, cacao and fresh mint into your blender and blend until smooth.

This makes one giant bowl of minty, chocolate ice cream or two smaller bowls if you are feeling kind.

vegan-banana-mint-chocolate-nice-cream

While we’re talking about ice cream, who decided that blended, frozen bananas was going to be renamed ‘nice cream’ anyway? Anyway, ice cream/nice cream it’s all the same and it’s all super tasty and good for you.

Leave a Reply

