SALAD: Tofeta – eh?

Tofeta. WHAT? That was my reaction too, my friend Harriet text me the word tofeta and I simply stared at my phone with bemusement. After I got myself together Harriet explained that tofeta is tofu, marinaded to have that tangy feta taste so me, being the cheese freak that I am took to the internet and found myself a recipe and off I trotted to the kitchen.

I used this recipe, so here’s what I did.

What you need:
1 block of extra firm tofu
Juice from one lemon
1/2 cup of cold water
1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon of oregano

Do you want to hear my favourite phrase? This is so simple! Mix all everything but the tofu in a bowl, I used dried oregano and it worked a treat. Then slice the tofu and leave it to drain on some kitchen paper, put a chopping board on top and try to balance a heavy bowl on the top, this process is called pressing tofu, it pushes out the liquid so that you can flavour it. You want to leave the tofu to press for about 30 minutes.

Once the tofu is pressed, chop it into chunks like you would with feta, pop them into the bowl with the liquid, cover and pop it in the fridge. You then need to leave this for at least 2-3 hours to take on all of those lovely flavours.

tofeta-prep
This isn’t a clear photograph but here it is, marinading away

I agree with Simple Vegan Blog, it’s better if you leave it for a couple of days. I ate this tofeta for a few of days on the trot and it just got better and better. The first night I topped some roasted vegetables with tofeta and it was pretty good. But my tofeta salad was my favourite way to eat this!

tofeta-salad-jar
We all know that I love jars

I couldn’t recommend this enough, mostly because I’m a total cheese obsessive and not eating stilton haunts my nightmares, not enough to actually eat it but I do sit and think about cheese an awful lot… If any of you have any vegan cheese recipes I would LOVE to try  them, mmm cheese…

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. kawaii! yes I love jars too hehe

    Like

Leave a Reply

