MEAL: Roasted tomato and pepper soup

I have been as sick as a dog. Well, I’ve had tonsillitis AGAIN! Usually in this situation I would make my feel good chicken soup but this is the first time I’ve been unwell since going vegan and I felt completely lost. Firstly, tonsillitis sucks balls, it’s completely unnecessary pain and makes me feel like a child, I also find it really hard to eat which is a huge deal for me. If I am not eating HELP ME, I am not well if I’m off my food. So I spent the weekend sleeping right up until my pre-made plans then going straight back to bed. Rock ‘n’ roll right? Anyway, over the weekend I saw my pal Ross making a Kelis soup on Insta and it looked amazing. He’s blogged about his first time soup experience over on his blog, it’s a great read, I highly recommend it. This soup came back to me through my tonsillitis haze and I decided that I needed to make a good tomato soup so here it is.

What you need:
6 salad tomatoes
1 punnet of cherry tomatoes
2 sweet red peppers
3 cloves of garlic
1 red onion
3 cups of Bouillon
Oil to fry
Salt and pepper to taste
2 teaspoons of chilli flakes (optional)

Chop all your tomatoes and peppers up and throw them on a baking tray, spray with some oil and whack them into a preheated oven (200c). Leave the tray in the oven for about 30 minutes until they start to brown and blacken around the edges, this means they are going to be super sweet to eat. Here’s the tray just before I popped it into the oven:

tomatoes-peppers-soup
I mean this screams health

While your tomatoes and pepper are roasting, chop the red onion and garlic, grab yourself a large saucepan, spray with some oiled gently fry the onion garlic. Set this aside until the roast tomatoes and peppers are ready.

When you’re finished roasting, carefully spoon the tomatoes and peppers into the saucepan, there will be a ton of juice and it will be hotter than lava so just be careful. Now add the Bouillon and let it bubble away. Here I added 2 teaspoons of chilli flakes because when I’m sick I can’t help but think that spicy food will scare the illness out of my body. Then you’re good to blend it into a lovely, smooth soup.

Now I’m not saying that I’m a doctor here but my tonsils definitely felt much calmer after eating this.

tomato-pepper-soup
Look at the colour of this soup, dreamy
7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Aw feel better soon 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Smeeeff. Thanks for the link 🙂 . I’m currently sunning in Madrid, but when I’m back we should get together and collab. X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope you feel better soon. I love a tomato and pepper soup. Yours looks delicious, Chloe.
    https://pinkiebag.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

