BRUNCH: Vegan omelette, wait, what?

You read that title correct, VEGAN OMELETTE! Being a new vegan I am still coming up against a few issues because I used to love an eggy, weekend breakfast. It seems that tofu is the answer to my eggy cravings. First I wearily tried scrambled tofu and now I’m trying a tofu omelette. Now, when I was gearing up to try scrambled tofu I really thought that it would be awful, I can’t lie, I had the same feelings about a tofu omelette – WHAT EVEN IS THAT?! I was not at all convinced right the way up until I was folding the omelette over and it all started to take shape. Hello new weekend breakfast!

What you need:
1/2 a packet of silken tofu
1 tablespoon of oat milk
1 tablespoon of Doves Farm plain flour
1 teaspoon of tahini
Pinch of turmeric
Pinch of paprika
Pinch of salt
Pinch of ground pepper
Spray oil
Filling of your choice (I used garlic, shallots, 1/4 bell pepper, tomato, spinach and vegan cheese)

Now, do you remember my favourite comment? THIS IS SO EASY! Grab your blender, throw the tofu, milk, flour, tahini, turmeric, paprika, salt and pepper in the blender and whiz that mixture until it’s smooth. I then put this mix into a a bowl so that I could ensure it was nice and smooth plus, it’s easier to pour into the pan from the bowl.

Here I gently fried my omelette filling (apart from the spinach and cheese) with some coconut spray oil, which is the best thing I’ve bought for a while. Then I just set the filling to the side and sprayed the pan with oil again.

Now you’re ready to fry your omelette – woo! Once the pan is hot, tip your omelette mix into the pan and use a tablespoon to flatten the mix out in the pan. You want to aim for the omelette to be roughly 10cm across but it’s really up to you. Pile your filling into the middle of your omelette and fry for about 5 minutes or until it comes free from the pan.

vegan-tofu-omelette-pan

Then fold it in half, let the cheese melt a little and boom, you’ve got yourself a vegan omelette.vegan-tofu-omelette

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I could try this without the flour. Have used the silky tofu to make vegan scrambled eggs. Thank you for sharing this recipe. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I like the sound of this omelette. I must give it a try. Thanks for sharing, Chloe.
    https://pinkiebag.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah this looks amazing – I must try! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

