BREAKFAST: Beesley’s posh beans

In week two of my Vegan Diaries I mentioned that I was down in LDN having great food and lots of gin for my friend’s 30th birthday. My friend Harriet makes the best food, hands down, she’s always fed me so well, so so well, naturally I was over the mood when she introduced me to posh beans.

scramble-tofu-posh-beans

Baked beans are full of sugar and salt but oh my lord are they good. This recipe is great to fill that gap when you’re looking for a tomatoey breakfast but looking to keep the sugars and salt to a minimum.

What you need:
1 cup of butter beans
1 can of chopped tomatoes
1 teaspoon tomato puree
1 clove of garlic (crushed)
1 teaspoon of agave syrup
A splash of red wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon chilli flakes
Salt
Pepper

Basically you throw all of these ingredients in a saucepan, no really, drain the beans, chuck everything else in, let it bubble away and stir so that it doesn’t stick to the bottom. I like to get up, get the pan started, potter about, make a coffee and go back to the beans. you really need to keep the beans simmering away for at least 20 minutes, the longer you cook them, the better they are (they start to go really think and gloopy).

posh-beans

These beans are great just on toast or with my scrambled tofu. I made double the amount on Sunday so I could have a second helping for my Monday lunch, best decision.

posh-beans-scrambled-tofu-toast

 

Leave a Reply

