SWEET TREATS: Peanut butter squares

Peanut butter makes me so happy, so much so that I’m frequently spotted at my desk scoffing a spoonful as an afternoon snack (that’s not a snack Amy, PUT THE SPOON DOWN). I used to make these amazing peanut butter cups but they were FULL of chocolate, they tasted heavenly but you could feel your teeth rotting as you ate them.

At work we always have a fat day when it’s someone’s birthday, what is a fat day I hear you cry? Well, I’ll tell you, everyone brings in something, anything and we gorge all day. It’s great. Me being me, I like to bake something but this is the first birthday since I decided to kick the animal products, queue panicking. I dug out my never used Decadent Gluten-Free Vegan Baking book and started looking for inspiration. I stumbled upon Cara’s Peanut Butter Cup Bars – THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I NEED! Now for the first time in my life, I followed the recipe to the letter, in my opinion you don’t need the sugar, maybe a tablespoon of agave syrup to sweeten it up a little.

What you need:
1 1/2 cups of chunky peanut butter
1/2 cup of melted coconut oil
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
2 cups of icing sugar
2 cup of gluten free biscuits (I used co-op’s gluten free digestives as they don’t have egg in them)
2 bars of dairy free dark chocolate

Melt your jar of coconut oil in the microwave, or if you’re like me, fearful of microwaves, sit it in a sink of hot water. While you’re waiting for your oil to melt crush your biscuits in a large mixing bowl, this is great fun. Grab a rolling pin and bash those biscuits, now I wouldn’t worry if you can’t get the crumb even, it’s homemade, it’s not supposed to be even! Now add in the peanut butter, oil, vanilla and icing sugar (or ditch the sugar for some syrup), combine it all until it looks even. Lay out a sheet of baking paper onto a tray and pour the peanut butter goodness out on it. Now it’s recommended that you use a 9 x 13 inch pan but I just whacked min into shape. Melt the chocolate in a bain-marie and slather it on top. Set the whole thing in the fridge for at least 3 hours.

vegan-gluten-free-peanut-butter-slice-setting

Then chop into squares, how good do these looks?

vegan-gluten-free-peanut-butter-slices

Pop them in a tin and keep them in the fridge until they are about to be eaten.

vegan-gluten-free-peanut-butter-slice-tin

These went down a storm in the office and I’ve already had requested to make them again! Next time I’m going to try them without the sugar and see how that goes. Wish me luck.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Oh I love peanut butter to use it to make biscuits make it a delicious treat. Thanks for sharing, Chloe.
    http://pinkiebag.com/

    Like

  2. Ooooh, these look delicious! I love peanut butter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

