BREAKFAST: Scrambled Tofu

After my day at Vegfest last week (read about my day here) I’m going to eat a bit smarter and phase out meat and animal products from my diet over the next month. Now the first thing that panicked me about making this decision was my weekend breakfasts, if you have been following Little Nibble for a while you’ll know that I’m obsessed with eggs, scramble them, poach them, make them into an omelette, just feed me eggs at the weekend! So I’ve been on a mission to find something that would feel like a weekend breakfast treat, obviously I started my search on Pinterest because all of the food on there looks great. This is where I stumbled across scrambled tofu, now I was fully open to this being awful but I am genuinely so pleased with how this turned out, obviously it doesn’t taste like scrambled eggs but it certainly does the trick as a good, tasty alternative.

I adapted this recipe from Fork & Beans, because lets face it, I never follow a recipe properly.

What you need:
Coconut oil
1/2 shallot
1 clove of garlic
1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric
200g tofu (I used Cauldron Foods Tofu)
1/4 cup of Bouillon
Salt
Pepper

First get the bouillon ready, I use a gluten free/vegan vegetable bouillon for everything. Boil the kettle, measure out 1/4 cup of hot water and dissolve 1/2 teaspoon of bouillon and keep it ready to add to the tofu at the end.

Dice the shallot into really small pieces, crush your garlic and start warming a frying pan with a bit of coconut oil. Once the coconut oil has completely melted throw the chopped shallot and garlic in the pan, fry them until they soften up then add in the turmeric and give it a good stir. The turmeric turns the onions and garlic a beautiful yellow colour, now it’s time to add the tofu. I’ve used Cauldron Foods Tofu because it’s texture is perfect for  this recipe, I use half the block of tofu which is about 200g, break it up into a few chunks as it goes into the pan then break it down with a wooden spoon. It breaks down into a scrambled egg texture really easily. Now you can add in the bouillon, add it slowly, let it heat up and soak into the tofu, then add a little more, let it soak in, keep doing this until it’s all in the pan and the tofu looks all soft and delicious. Season with salt and pepper.

I ate this with an avocado and spelt toast and I have to admit, I bloody loved it! Perfect weekend breakfast has been achieved.

vegan-scrambled-tofu-breakfast

Leave a Reply

