SWEET TREATS: Pumpkin cookies, the gluten free, dairy free, vegan way

I was having a look through my blog for some vegan inspiration, this week I’m going to attempt to eat vegan, it’s something that I’ve been thinking about for a while but I love cheese, all of the cheese, so so much. In the run up to Vegfest Scotland this weekend I thought it would be the perfect excuse to give it a bash. This recipe is perfect for anyone trying to cut down on gluten, sugar and animal products. It is one of those recipes that I was sure I had posted, alas I did not, I must have gotten caught up in eating them all!

What you need:
1/2 cup of boiled pumpkin
1 cup of smooth peanut butter
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup of dairy free, dark chocolate chips

I feel like I say the phrase “these are so easy”in every recipe post but it is true! I rare cook anything complicated, I just don’t think it’s necessary to eat complicated food at home, especially if you’re cooking for anyone with a dietary requirement.

Pre-heat your oven to 200 degrees.

So, first things first, either use pumpkin puree or just buy a fresh pumpkin, boil it and keep in the fridge for other recipes (my pumpkin loaf is a good one). I always eat fresh pumpkin in the autumn so I used my own boiled pumpkin for this recipe, I let it cool, mashed it down and measured it out into a large mixing bowl. You can then add the peanut butter, maple syrup, nutmeg, cinnamon and salt in, give it a really good mix, you want the mixture to be really smooth. Once it’s all combined you can add in the dark chocolate chips and stir them in.

Now you’re ready to shape your cookies and get them in the oven. Here I’d run out of baking paper so I used tin foil and it totally worked, phew. These work well if they’re reasonably small, grab yourself a tablespoon and start spooning the mixture onto the foil; don’t worry, it’s a really wet mix so you can’t roll it. Take a look at mine as they were heading into the oven, they look pretty messy but it’s all good, trust me.

These cookies are like my peanut butter cookies, they don’t take long in the oven, they go from perfect to burnt in the blink of an eye. They only take 15 – 20 minutes to cook so don’t meander off with a cup of tea like I usually do. Leave them to cool slightly on the trays, they are still soft when they come out of the oven but they do toughen up.

Now looking at the list of ingredients, you might be fooled into thinking that these are some of those fun free, boring cookies but I had rave reviews when I took them to work.

Leave a Reply

