SWEET TREATS: Peanut butter cookie update

If you follow my Facebook page you might have seen that I was updating my peanut butter cookie recipe, this is the one that has no dairy, wheat or gluten but packed full of flavour. Last Thursday I’d had one of those days where I just didn’t stop, it was all go so naturally me being me I came home and whipped up my favourite pick me up cookies. I didn’t have any dark chocolate chips or nuts to add so I tried adding some cacao powder and it’s worked a treat! They aren’t very chocolaty but the cacao gives a super richness to the cookies that make them delish.

What you need:
1 cup of smooth peanut butter
1 cup of sugar
1 egg
1 tablespoon of cacao
Sea salt to sprinkle

Like in the previous recipe, preheat your oven to 180C and grab yourself a large mixing bowl. Put the peanut butter, sugar, egg and cacao in the bowl and stir until it’s all evenly combined then roll into balls, place on baking trays covered with greaseproof paper and press down on them to flatten them a little. Once you’ve done this with all the mixture, spring the sea salt on top of the cookies so that they look like these.

Chocolate and peanut butter cookies

Bake these for 10-15 minutes, like I mentioned in my previous post they don’t take long to bake so no wandering off to read a book, if you’re anything like me you’ll forget about them and ruin them. I’ve done that and it’s heart breaking!

Peanut butter cookies

This version of the cookies went down a storm at work so give them a go and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

