DINNER: Vegetable and chicken pie

I spend a lot of my life explaining to people that I really don’t like most pies, I mean I just don’t understand them! Why would you want to eat meat that’s all mushed up in pastry? No thank you. I do however enjoy an open pie with lots of vegetables and no gravy for miles around. I can’t lie to you here, I very rarely make my own pastry, I know, I’m sorry, I spend a lot of time telling you all how easy it is to make everything and truth be told shortcrust pastry is actually pretty simple to make however the ds Shortcrust Pastry is so handy to have when you just can’t face making pastry from scratch! The pastry comes as 2 x 200g packs in one box, the first half I used for individual lemon meringue pies and the second I used for this savoury pie that is perfect as an easy and vegetable filled lunch for work.

What you need:
Gluten free short crust pastry
1 chicken breast
1 small aubergine
1 orange pepper
1 clove of garlic
100g asparagus
250g cherry tomatoes
150g soft goats cheese

Preheat your oven to 200c. Grab yourself a pie dish to blind bake your pastry, now if you don’t have a pie dish (what are you doing with life? Go and buy one, they are great for making nachos in) you can make a free form pie on a baking tray, worry not. Spread a little gluten free flour on your work top and roll your pastry out until it’s bigger than your pie dish. Don’t worry if it’s not all neat, if this is your first pie it doesn’t need to be neat, you’re not in the Bake Off tent. Carefully place the pastry into the pie dish and push it into all the corners, put a sheet of baking paper in the middle and fill with baking beans, now if you don’t have baking beans you can use those coppers that you never spend. Bake for 10 minutes.

Blind bake your pastry

While this is baking you can cook your chicken and prep your veg. I poached my chicken breast for this pie, mostly because it keeps the chicken moist before you put it into the oven again. Boil a pan of water and whack your chicken in.

Slice your aubergines into rounds, chop the cherry tomatoes in half, crush your garlic, trim the asparagus and cut the pepper into long, thin slices. Once the pastry case is cooked, leave it to cool for a while. By this time your chicken will be cooked and ready to cut up into small chunks.

When the pastry is cool to the touch you can start putting the filling in, how you to this is up to you, I enjoy layers so I very carefully covered the base in peppers, then aubergines, then garlic, chicken, tomatoes and asparagus. However there is no real need for it to be so tidy so throw yours in as you like. Top the filling with a few rounds of soft toast cheese and pop it back in the oven.

Chicken and vegetable pie

Leave the pie in the oven at 200c for 40-50 minutes, you need the peppers at the bottom to really cook. Then once it’s all lovely, golden and cripsy, take it out and serve immediately or leave to cool and cut into pieces for lunch. This pie feels summery and goes great with a basic salad.

Chicken and vegetable pie

Leave a Reply

